Write a review
Your name
Email
Website
Title
Rate product
Review
Images
Upload photos or drag & drop here (max. 10 photos)
  • Breakdown

    I had upgraded from the iPhone 5 so I was familiar with the design and features but customers who are upgrading from older generation devices will be rather surprised with its results. The gold color is a nice touch since its new, but once a case covers it the color is unnoticeable. If you decide to use the device naked, the gold color differentiates the 5s from the 5 greatly.

    Apple's Touch ID, the fingerprint sensor, is a cool feature but to me it does not appeal. As of now its use is limited to unlocking the device, signing into your apple account to make purchases, and store five prints, but the potential is great. Developers could soon utilize this feature and incorporate it into their apps or games to make them more exciting.

    The 120 fps feature on the 5s's camera is a great way to show off action shots in slow motion to friends and family. The camera quality is OK but needs to be upgraded from the iPhone 5. The upgraded duel flash is a great improvement from previous generation iPhones, particularly in dark conditions. In addition, Apple's new A7 chip allows for faster responses on iOS 7. Apps that require more power such as iMovie can run faster on the 5s compared to the 5, which takes longer to export data.

    Apple says the iPhone 5s is five times as fast as the iPhone 5, but my speed and responsiveness tests confirm it is actually twice as fast. The 64-bit architecture allows faster apps to run on the 5s, but compatible apps on the App Store are limited since its "new" technology.

    In all, if you are available for an upgrade, the iPhone 5s is worth it from an older generation device such as an iPhone 4 or 4s. If the 5s's new features appeal to you, upgrading to the 5s is not a bad choice either, especially with the new technology. Additional warranties are offered from Apple to protect the device, but a simple case can prevent uncertain accidents from happening for years to come.
    October 31, 2013 14:53
  • Fastest!!!!

    this phone is the best and fastest according to speed tests. It has changed my life my making things easier. That may sound over the top, but it is my first iPhone. After comparing it to the iPhone 5 I would say it is better. I don't have an iPhone 5C but as I understand the hardware is similar to my wives iPhone 5. Honestly I am sure you would be happy with an iPhone 5C if you are trying to decide. You would be missing the touch id and better camera. You gain colors and a more comfortable feel (without case). I chose the 5S because I use my phone all day for work. I need the best tools for my job.
    October 31, 2013 14:48
  • Not big, not fat but beautiful

    The screen on the iPhone is not as large as some of the Android giants. Android seems believe that a bigger screen is better. For me this doesn't make sense. I carry my phone in my pocket which you can do with the iPhone 5S because it is skinny enough to fit. I also like that I can reach all the screen with one hand. The screen is much larger than my old Blackberry. The retina display is beautiful. The colors and crispness are very pleasing to look at. It seem similar to my wives iPhone 5. Does clarity make a difference - yes it prevents eye strain. I have had no trouble with the moving elements on the display. I have no idea why people are complaining about that, but maybe they have some vision troubles or motion sickness issues. You can turn off the moving screen and I would expect future IOS 7 updates to allow users to disable all features people are complaining about.
    October 31, 2013 14:46
  • it's kinda magical device

    I have always loved apple and am a loyal customer. I currently own all of their new products but have never had an iPhone intel now. I bought my Gold 64 gb iPhone 5s and waited a few weeks for it to come to my local verizon wireless store. I have researched a lot about the iPhone 5s and most of my friends have the 5 or 4s so I know how the system works. I love the 5s but really dont think it is much of a step up from the 5. I mean ya, fingerprint censor...that's great and all but not that useful. Who cares that you save 3 seconds pressing your finger to a button instead of typing in a password. The system with the A7 chip runs faster and more efficiently and siri has been upgraded but I believe they should have brought in more physical features to differentiate the 5s from the 5. I like how fast the phone is but I think they could have added a bit more, even if it is a "s" model.
    October 31, 2013 14:44
  • I very impressed

    Best Handset ever made by apple
    Touch id is fast and resposive, camera is amazing
    Pros: touch id, light weight,fast proseccer
    Cons: Price
    October 31, 2013 14:43
  • Succed my expectations

    On time and the product complyed all the requirements.
    IT arrived in very good conditions, Brand new.
    I have been using for a month a no problem at all.
    Finger print recognition works perfectly.
    October 31, 2013 14:41
  • Best for girls

    What can go wrong with the iPhone 5S Gold? Nothing. Exactly.
    Great phone from Apple. This is the fastest iPhone yet.
    October 31, 2013 14:40
  • Many problems

    This phone is not as audible as the 4 for an unknown reason - it has to be on its maximum volume level and even then words are missed and you have to ask the caller to repeat themselves.

    The White/Silver version looks VERY Korean. It's not slick and sophisticated in my opinion. It evokes the spirit of a Samsung smartphone in white that has been shrunk down. If this were the Iphone6, I would be much happier since a Samsung Galaxy Note 3 order was cancelled to get this phone but we felt we really needed an updated smartphone. Hopefully, Apple devices will retain their resalability.

    We have laptops and rokus using wifi with no problem but the touch 4g always buffered after a few minutes and you would think that this latest and greatest would have as decent wifi as a $35 Roku LT but that is not the case. Since I am not an Apple addict, I would return this phone and never touch another Apple device but I am not primary user of this brand's products so I try to do as much research as I can stomach to cushion the expected frustrations of signing on to own and participate in this artificial reality.

    The sensor issues seem to be due to a new supplier, Bosch, and that means ALL the new phones are affected and Apple is not known for doing a product recall. The sensors are off by DIFFERENT degrees so it is not believable that any firmware or app will be able to offset the sensor - at best, they will embed software that will throw the sensors off in the opposite direction to minimize the amount it is off level. SO LAME. I haven't pulled out a carpenter's level yet to test it but the ongoing revelations including a teardown of the phone indicate that Bosch screwed up and all 5s and 5c owners will be stuck with this because Apple never fixed antennagate on the iPhone 4. They certainly never contacted owners of the 4 to offer them a free case as their idea of a "fix" for the antenna problem.

    It takes forever for the fingerprint sensor to identify your fingerprint so get comfortable before you press your finger on it because you can't lift it up until Apple is finished.
    October 31, 2013 14:38
  • Only Samsung

    It's much more better then overrated Apple phone.
    October 31, 2013 14:34
    • You'd better...

      be samsung fan in another product review. Why did you write your review? It's only depends on customer choise.
      October 31, 2013 14:36
    • I will think about it...

      ...later
      October 31, 2013 14:52
  • Good

    I liked the device and the new Touch ID feature. I didn't find any difference between iPhone 5 & 5S in regards of the Camera! I don't think that the iPhone 5 owners will find it attractive to upgrade from their phones to 5S!
    October 31, 2013 14:33
  • loveit!

    I upgraded from an iphone 4. I bought it from Apple with a 2 year AT&T Contract. The phone is amazing. It is so fast compared to the 4. All of my APS boot up with lightning speed. The screen is clear, crisp and the colors great. The battery life is about the same as my four. I live in an area with very poor cell phone reception. It is my feeling that the 5s handles that better than did the four. Areas that I could not make calls from on my 4 are doable with the 5s. I have read many negative reviews from various sources, but my own experience has been nothing less than positive. In my mind it is a great phone and well worth what I paid for it.
    October 31, 2013 14:31
  • Superb

    I didn't purchase iPhone 5s 64g here but after a couple weeks of using the phone with touch id has been excellent, i would hate using another phone without it since making unlocking the phone so much easier. I went from an iPhone 5 to 5s which i believe has been a huge improvement in speed, can't wait to see what Apple has next up its sleeves
    October 31, 2013 14:30
  • You're gold!

    I wasn't planning to buy this phone but life happened and I had to switch cell providers. I wanted the 5 (nice discount and I like the look of the black metal rather than the colored plastic of the 5c) but they were sold out. The store I was at happened to have 1 black (space grey) 16g left so I decided to go for it.
    I was upgrading from the 4s which I still think is a great phone. The 4g/LTE capabilities of the 5s are really great, the larger screen is also really great, but other than that the extras that are 5s exclusive are more of a gimmick at this point. The fingerprint sensor is a nice touch but not a necessity as your phone could still get hijacked. It does work pretty well and I like that you can program up to 5 fingerprints (I have thumb and index for both hands programmed on mine as well as the 4 digit pin) the camera is definitely better in low light, but I don't know of the dual flash actually makes a difference for me that is noticeable. The slow motion video camera is fun but I wish you could do more than one section in slow mo (can decide which section is slow mo but can't split it up. You also can't post slow mo to Instagram which is what I use video for mostly. Haven't tried with vine)
    I mean, don't get me wrong, it's a nice phone and definitely a notable upgrade from the 4s, but I would've definitely rather had more space on the 5 for the same price or waited for the 6 (supposedly going to have a larger screen.) But if you're an apple fan and due for an upgrade it is a really nice device and you'll probably be happy. I wouldn't upgrade from a 5 though. The biggest thing I care about is this phone has the dependability I have come to expect from Apple (the main reason I switched back to iphone from the buggy android incarnations I was experiencing a couple years ago) and of course the resale value is higher with apple devices later on. So overall it is a good phone and I'm happy with it, but the exclusive upgrades may or may not be worth it depending on what you're looking for.
    October 31, 2013 14:29